{{ alert }}
{{ notice }}
{{ warning }}

Learn what's required to get your Insurance license in Texas

State Regulator

Texas Department of Insurance 

Step 1
Complete a Pre-License Training Course

Prior to taking your insurance licensing exam, it is recommended (though not required by the Texas Department of Insurance) that you complete a pre-license training course.  

Check out ProTraining’s course catalog and take the first step to getting your insurance license now.

Enroll Into Your Course

Step 2
Book your Licensing Exam

The Texas Department of Insurance, and Pearson VUE have teamed up to offer a comprehensive way for you to schedule and take your insurance licensing exam.

To book your exam online, visit Pearson Vue.

If you are a first-time user, you will be required to create an account. 

You must make an online reservation at least twenty-four (24) hours before your desired exam date. If you wish to make a phone reservation, call (866) 895-0496. You must do so at least twenty-four (24) hours before your desired exam date. 

Prior to booking your exam, be sure to review the candidate handbook for a comprehensive guide to the policies and procedures for scheduling and taking a Texas insurance licensing exam.

Step 3
Pass your licensing exam

All exams are given in English, in a multiple-choice format, and deal with basic entry-level knowledge required of the particular insurance licensure. Many examinations will contain non-scored “pretest questions,” which are mixed in with the scored questions and are not identified.

The topics covered on each exam and number of questions devoted to each topic are listed in the Texas Examination Content Outlines document.

The following table shows the total number of questions (scored and non-scored) on each exam, the seat times, and passing percentages needed for each exam. For complete exam information, policies and procedures, please refer to the Candidate Handbook.

Exam Type Total Questions Seat Time (Min) Passing Score (%)
Adjuster All Lines 150 2 hr 30 min 70%
Adjuster - Property & Casualty 150 2 hr 30 min 70%
General Lines - Life, Accident and Health 150 2 hr 30 min 70%
Life Agent 85 2 hr 70%
Personal Lines 100 2 hr 70%

Step 4
Get Fingerprinted

Texas requires that all candidates applying to become an insurance agent go through fingerprinting.

Electronic fingerprinting appointments must be made through IdentoGO By MorphoTrust USA (formerly known as L1 Enrollment). You can schedule it online or over the phone by calling 888-467-2080 Monday through Friday, 8AM–5PM Central time. 

Read more about the electric fingerprinting process here. 

Step 5
Apply for Your License

Apply for your license 24 hours after passing the exam by completing an application at Sircon. Your application must be completed within one year of passing the exam or the exam must be retaken.

Step 6
Maintain Your License with Continuing Education

To renew and/or maintain your insurance license, you will be required to complete a minimum number of continuing education (CE) credits. 

Resident insurance producers are required to complete 24 hours of State-approved CE every 2 years. Of the 24 credits, a minimum of 2 hours must be in "ethics" coursework.

Start Your Career in Insurance


ProTraining is happy to provide licensing information for candidates looking to obtain their insurance license. While reasonable efforts will be made to ensure this information is up to date and accurate, we recommend that licensees ensure they are compliant with all requirements mandated by the Texas Department of Insurance.