How Do I Get My California Real Estate Salesperson License?
Step 1: Meet the minimum Requirements
Step 2: Completion of three college level, Pre-License Training Courses
Step 3: Apply for the Real Estate Salesperson Examination and Real Estate License
Step 4: Take and Pass Your Licensing Exam
Step 5: Maintain Your License with Continuing Education
Meet the minimum Requirements
Prior to applying to take your real estate salesperson licensing exam, you must meet the following requirements.
- You must be 18 years of age or older
- Honesty - applicants must be honest and truthful. Conviction of a crime may result in the denial of a license. Failure to disclose any criminal violation or disciplinary action may also result in the denial of a license.
- Completion of three college level pre-license courses (135 credit hours).. Courses must be completed at an institution of higher learning accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges or by a comparable regional accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education, or by a private real estate school which has had its courses approved by the California Real Estate Commissioner.
Completion of three college level, Pre-License Training Courses
If you have yet to complete the following three college level courses, Check out ProTraining’s course catalog and take the first step to getting your real estate salesperson license now.
1. Real Estate Principles
2. Real Estate Practice
3. One of the following:
- Business Law
- Common Interest Developments
- Computer Applications in Real Estate
- General Accounting
- Legal Aspects of Real Estate
- Mortgage Loan Brokering and Lending
- Property Management
- Real Estate Appraisal
- Real Estate Economics
- Real Estate Finance
- Real Estate Office Administration
Apply for the Real Estate Salesperson Examination & License
Once you meet the minimum requirements, and have completed the necessary pre-license training courses, you can apply for the licensing exam as well as your real estate license at the same time via the Combined Salesperson Exam and License Application Process.
You may also choose to simply apply for the examination only by completing the Salesperson Examination Application (RE 400 A).
Take and Pass Your Licensing Exam
To obtain your license you must take and pass the written California Real Estate Licensing exam.
This exam consists of 150 multiple-choice questions. You will be given three hours and 15 minutes to complete the examination.
Maintain Your License with Continuing Education
To renew and/or maintain your insurance license, you will be required to complete a minimum number of continuing education (CE) credits.Real Estate salespersons renewing an original license for the first time, must complete 45 hours of approved Continuing Education:
- Five separate 3-hour subjects in Ethics, Agency, Trust Fund Handling, Fair Housing and Risk Management.
- 18 hours consisting of consumer protection,
- and the remaining hours may be completed in either consumer service or consumer protection.
For second and subsequent renewals after 1/1/2016, salespersons must complete 45 hrs of approved education:
- One 8-hour survey course covering the six mandatory subjects (Ethics, Agency, Trust Fund Handling, Fair Housing, Risk Management, and Management and Supervision) OR licensees can choose to take each of the six mandatory subjects separately; and
- 18 hours consisting of consumer protection; and
- the remaining hours may be completed in either consumer service or consumer protection.
Check out ProTraining’s course catalog for available Continuing Education courses.
ProTraining is happy to provide licensing information for candidates looking to obtain their real estate license. While reasonable efforts will be made to ensure this information is up to date and accurate, we recommend that licensees ensure they are compliant with all requirements mandated by the California Department of Real Estate.
For additional details for applicants, check out the DRE’s instructions to license applicants.